Oncology

Consultation:

The increasing knowledge and the access to new media enables patients an active participation in treatment strategies. Responsible patients require individual reply to their questions, discussed in a confiding physician-patient-relationship. However, even in times of internet the oncologist is wanted to refine the information overload for offering the best therapy to the patient. Moreover, the request of a second opinion offers patients and their relatives the chance of an optimal therapy and/or additional treatment modalities.

Treatment Modalities:

The customized strategy from diagnosis to treatment and follow-up is based on the recommendations of a tumor board. This interdisciplinary tumor board incorporates specialists in oncology, oncological surgery and radiotherapy and if necessary, additional specialists are consulted. In accordance with the patients request, the required therapy can be arranged either in a private hospital or at the Department of Internal Medicine I at the Medical University of Vienna.

Follow Up:

Main foci of follow-up visits in patients with malignant diseases are a medical dialogue and physical examination. The risk-adapted personalised aftercare is based on different tumor entities. The time interval of necessary check-upīs will be chosen in accordance with the guidelines of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) and the European Society for Medical Oncology (ESMO), respectively.

Onkologie

Beratung:

Der zunehmende Wissensstand und die Erschließung neuer Medien ermöglicht den Patienten die aktive Mitgestaltung der Behandlungsstrategien. Mündige Patienten benötigen individuelle Antworten auf ihre Fragen, die sie in einer vertrauensvollen Arzt-Patienten Beziehung besprechen können. Gerade in Zeiten des Internets ist der Onkologe jedoch gefragt, einen medizinisch fundierten Filter über die Informationsflut zu legen, um so die optimale Behandlungsmöglichkeit anbieten zu können. Auch das Einholen einer Zweitmeinung (second opinion) bietet den Betroffenen die Chance auf optimale Therapien und/oder ergänzende Behandlungsmodalitäten.

Behandlung:

Der individuelle Behandlungsplan von der Diagnose bis zur Nachbehandlung wird im Rahmen eines Tumorboards erstellt. Diese interdisziplinäre Tumorkonferenz umfasst Spezialisten aus den Fachbereichen internistische Onkologie, onkologische Chirurgie sowie Strahlentherapie. Abhängig von individuellen Problemen stehen weitere Spezialisten zur interdisziplinären Tumordiagnostik und Tumortherapie zur Verfügung. Je nach Wunsch der Patienten und Versicherungsstatus kann die erforderliche Therapie in einem Privatspital oder an der Univ. Klink für Innere Medizin I der Medizinischen Universität durchgeführt werden.

Nachsorge:

Im Mittelpunkt einer umfassenden Nachsorge steht das ärztliche Gespräch und die klinische Untersuchung. Das individuelle Nachsorgeprogramm wird für die einzelnen Tumorarten erstellt und risikoadaptiert durchgeführt. Die zeitlichen Intervalle der entsprechenden notwendigen Nachuntersuchungen werden nach den Richtlinien der American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) sowie der European Society for Medical Oncology (ESMO) festgelegt.